Whew!

Five days of blog silence, haven’t done that in a while. I don’t think I even went dead that long at Christmas…

Dashing home is always hectic, and for whatever reason this time was even more so—but despite a lack of both sewing and blogging, there was no shortage of sewing-related talk and, more to the point, fabric shopping. In particular, thrift-store fabric shopping. My mom took me to her favourite little thrift-shop, which seems to have a particularly large fabric section (not sure if the fact that it’s run by Mennonites plays a role in this or not…)

Thrift store fabrics

And, well, I went a little overboard. BUT, I stuck to my “palette” and came away with mostly springy colours, mostly in lengths that should be large enough to make at least some of my dresses. Of course there were a couple of heavier plaids that snuck in, but I did resist the 4m of lavender coating/upholstry fabric (virtually identical weave, though not colour, to the stuff I’m making my springy coat out of… otherwise I’m sure it would be with me now. I’m actually kinda regretting letting that go… I might have to send my mom back for it…)

More patterns than are good for me (but at $.50/each, how can you resist?)

They also have an entire pattern-cabinet, which I dug through meticulously, and came home with probably more patterns than I should have. But I was good! No more dresses! There are a few more skirts than is probably wise, though, and I won’t get into the jackets yet…

But aside from all that yumminess (which I can’t think too much about as I have to catch up on my coat and do a couple of other things before I can think about ANYTHING else… I’ll rhapsodize in more detail later), I have to show you the bestest of all finds.

I don’t know if I’ve mentioned before, but everything I know about thrifting I learned from my mommy. She was thrifting back in the 70s when you actually could find real antiques for a buck or two at a yard sale…

And a few weeks ago, she found me a Greist buttonholer attachment.

The Buttonholer

I haven’t actually used it yet. It’s possible it’s completely non-functional. But it’s pristine, still in its box, with five templates, manual, feed-dog cover—and it fits on my machine!

Buttonholer contents

And it cost her  $1.99.

’nuff said.

22 Comments

Filed under Sewing

22 responses to “Whew!

  1. Yea! What a find! So I just got a 2273 last month at a second-hand store…

    Good luck with the buttonholer!

  2. That’s an amazing find, and your fabric/pattern finds are making me drown in a green sea. I was wondering where you’d got off to….

  3. Great haul! I found a fabulous thrift store run by some Christian Society, and their sewing section was fantastic! They also had those cabinets filled with patterns, although sadly most of them hearkened back to the late 80’s/early 90’s. I’ve never seen so many big shoulders/no shaping in one place since my childhood. 😀

    I’m really curious about the Simplicity 4273 pattern, and that Butterick pattern for the boys jacket. Can’t wait to see what you do with them, eventually.

  4. SCORES!!! Sounds like you really cleaned up the thrift stores, what a terrific haul!

  5. GG! I especially like this blue paid… And thanks to you and wikipedia I got to learn what Mennonites are (no kidding, but they’re not very common in France).

  6. Ruth

    I’ve just used my Singer buttonholer for the first time – it cost me £6 on Ebay but is possibly one of the best sewing purchases I’ve ever made. The buttonholes it produces are absolutely flawless, even on my cheap and crappy sewing machine!

  7. I’m luvin’ your thrift-haul! The Burda 8855 dress, and the Simplicity 6602 look like promising future projects IMHO! Oh, and I hope your buttonholer works too – completely awesome if it does for only $1.99!! (I bought one last year from eBay and I’ve been too chicken to try it out haha).

  8. Hooray for awesome thrift store hauls! I find some of the best-est clothes at my normal haunt. Apparently there’ someone similar to my size who has expensive taste.

    (And my daughter wants that skirt pattern, go fig)

  9. Wow! That buttonholer is such a find! Can’t wait to hear if it works. 😉 Gotta love some of the finds one can unearth with a little digging at thrift stores. I went to my favorite one on Friday and came away with a couple of cute vintage patterns for $0.50. Can’t argue! 😉

    ♥ Casey

  10. I have extremely fond memories of thrift shopping in Saskatchewan in the early 1980s. The best stores were the ones run by the ladies’ auxiliaries at churches. Of course your buttonholer will work! Try it and be amazed.

  11. Wow! What a haul! At 50 cents a pattern I think you showed admirable restraint. The buttonholer looks awesome. I have an old Singer buttonholer and it is worth it’s weight in gold. My mother’s fancy embroidery machine doesn’t make buttonholes as nice as that old Singer.

  12. Glad you got home safely with all your stuff. I have been devouring the book on fitting (Singer Library, ‘The Perfect Fit’) you gave me, and can hardly wait to cut out and sew up a couple more pairs of pants, trying out both the Singer ‘Flat-Seat Adjustment’, and Ann Rowley’s, that she uses on Burda patterns.
    If you want that fabric, I can run back and see if I can find it.

    • This afternoon I went back to the shop and your fabric was still there. And all the fabric was on for 1/2 price. So I picked it up, and some sagey-green knit (1.3 yds for $1.25) so I can start trying out one of the t-shirt patterns. And I tried on those cowboy boots, and they fit, really well, so they had to come home with me too. And the weather today is warm and sunny!!! Yay Spring!!!

  13. Ali

    Can’t wait to see what you come up with! And a buttonholer, oh, I pine.

  14. Jill

    I’ve made the pants from that S3714 pattern so many times I can probably do it in my sleep 🙂 I’ve used it for sleep pants, knit yoga pants, and even denim for my long-waisted jean hating girl. It’s a great jumping off point, and would be a good easy one for TYO to do mostly on her own.

  15. Yes, the fact that it was a Mennonite thrift store has a lot to do with your haul. The MCC thrift store here in Vancouver is lovely, put picked over. Oh, to travel to a smaller place and shop at a Mennonite thrift store! (Some people want to travel to France – well, who am I kidding, I do too, but I would also be happy with a tour of small town thrift stores!)

  16. Pingback: Splurge | Tanit-Isis Sews

  17. Pingback: A ruby in blue | Tanit-Isis Sews

  18. Pingback: Prezzies (2) | Tanit-Isis Sews

  19. Pingback: Holy Frock! | Tanit-Isis Sews

Leave a comment