One year in Blogland

Happy Birthday, dear Blog!

Yup, the day is finally arrived! As I had alluded to last month, my blog is one year old today.

It’s a touch odd to go back and look at what I was doing this time last year; I don’t think I could have imagined how much my sewing would progress (particularly since I barely knew what I didn’t know…)

What I’ve done:

Sewing! While I’m still pretty haphazard about a lot of things, I have many, many more techniques under my belt. And I’ve made lots and lots of clothes, to the point where my me-made wardrobe is probably bigger than my RTW—certainly in my everyday clothes.

In particular, I’ve mastered (ok, attempted more than once:)

Fun projects

  • fly-front zippers
  • topstitching (and man were the first few attempts at this traumatizing!)
  • bound buttonholes
  • coat-making
  • pad-stitching and a few other tailoring techniques
  • my particular fitting issues (short upper body, swayback, long arms and legs)
  • linings
  • underlining and interlining
  • welt pockets (definitely not mastered, but at least attempted.)
  • knits! man I was scared of these…
  • interfacing
  • facings (and the nifty finishing-with-interfacing trick.
  • spending money on sewing: fabric, interfacing, notions, patterns… OK, maybe this isn’t a good thing to have mastered, but trying to sew without spending money on it really kinda sucks.
  • Stash. I definitely have a stash at this point. Not a humongous one, but not teeny-tiny, either. Confession: I love my stash. It gives me a warm feeling to have certain basic fabrics on hand, so that when/if the urge strikes I can whip up what I want on the spot.
  • I’ve had a lot of fun with photography, too (intermixed with plenty of boring, boring shots).

Quirky projects

What I haven’t done:

  • I haven’t done as much pattern-drafting as I had initially thought I would, although I have really enjoyed my forays into altering existing patterns.
  • invisible zippers
  • double-ended darts
  • lapped zippers
  • bagged lining
  • a little black dress. Everyone needs one, right?
  • most of these dresses.
  • mitred corners

Hmm, that list actually isn’t half-bad.

I’ll take this moment of navel-gazing to highlight a few things.

My first list of goals (some achieved, some not! 😉 )

My first posted project.

My first wadder! (well, my first blogged wadder)

My first wearable garment (for me, anyway)

My first comment

My “arrival” in the blogosphere. I really had no idea how to “promote” my blog, other than posting my projects

Plain projects

on Burdastyle and PatternReview. It wasn’t until I got that coveted link from the Selfish Seamstress back in August that I actually got a readership of more than a handful of people :). (To those of you who were there before—well, you just extra-rock!)

And lastly I’d like to thank you all, each and every one of you, who takes the time to stop here and poke through my ramblings. Your comments are one of the high points of my days, and the interaction, both here and on your own blogs, keeps me excited and motivated and itching to sew, design, create!

In celebration, I’m going to wear my circle-skirt/Ceylon blouse combo, despite the fact that I have nowhere to go except taking kids to the doctor’s office this afternoon:

Me Made March 15—one year of blogging!

All dressed up!

Ceylon Blouse
Casey Circle Skirt
Fluffy Petticoat
Oh, yeah, and a poorly-fitting knit tee underneath for warmth.

41 Comments

Filed under Sewing

41 responses to “One year in Blogland

  1. Congratulations on year one! I’m looking forward to your Etsy store opening!

  2. Lizzie

    I can’t believe you’ve done that much in a year. Congratulations !

  3. Happy 1st Blog-i-versary!What’s that phrase ?… “You’ve come a long way baby!“. You done good – I hope the cake is real & not just a pic & that someone made it for you ;)?

  4. Rosie

    Congrats on all the achievements! Looking forward to many more!!

  5. Congratulations! Much accomplished in a year and lots of new friends, cheers!! I realize the cake is old news, but damn, I want a piece!

  6. congratulations and you look fab!

  7. Congratulations, and keep it up! I love reading your blog, your ‘ramblings’ as you put them are fun to read and inspirational, and make me want to get off the internet and actually sew!

  8. Mercy

    Happy Birthday! You’ve done loads of stuff, very impressive. So you’d better keep going, really. Don’t want to lose all that momentum 😉

  9. Sue P.

    OK… I’ve almost written to you SEVERAL times, so in honor of your anniversary, here it goes. I am old enough to be your mother (older than your mother by a LOT), but not stodgy – especially when it comes to fashion. I sew a lot, and have since I was 7 (that was 59 years ago), and now sew for me and for my 3 very hip granddaughters, 19, 19 & 24. I love contemporary fashion, and like your mom, find that there’s a sad gap in RTW for women like me. I LOVE your blog. I am inspired by it, and stunned at how you produce so much with your other commitments. I’ve amped up my commitment to knits, watching all of the great things you’ve made this year. So when you start a blog, you never know who will be inspired. Who knows, maybe some day I’ll start a blog for hip, “mature” seamstresses, inspired by your delightful posts. Happy blog-iversary!

  10. Happy BA day! Congratulations–one day I may attempt half your list…or maybe not! Great outfit and happy weekend!

  11. Happy Blogiversary! I absolutely love your blog and damn, you’ve done a lot this year!!! 🙂

  12. The Mom

    Congratulations on your Blogiversary! You have inspired me so much. I was down to my favourite thrift shop today, and bought several small amounts of lining materials in colours which will go with the fabric I bought there last week. I also picked up an old Burda pattern (#7646) for a fitted little jacket and a circle skirt. They have a whole cabinet full of used patterns, and they are .50 each. And my Jalie jeans, and t-shirt patterns came today, so I am almost ready to sew. (Just need thread, interfacing, zippers….)

  13. Happy Anniversary! I look forward to reading your second year.

  14. Wow, you have done so much in this past year looking at what you’ve posted here! I’m really impressed by the quality of your garments, they look really professional. And your jeans, fantastic! Did you finish your wide leg trousers for Sunni’s sew-along? I’m almost done, ugh.

    I just read the Selfish Seamstress’ post – didn’t realize you were a former model! You definitely have a style and confidence in your photos, which is great. I’m also a rectangle shape, something I wasn’t exactly sure of, but we have similar shapes so there! It just doesn’t sound so glamorous so maybe I was in denial 🙂 In any case, congrats on your blog bday and all the sewing you’ve accomplished so far!

    • Hehe… I didn’t actually participate in that sew along, although I did trawl the flickr group and offer usolicited amateur fitting advice ;).

      As to the rectangle, it was made clear to me when I realized that my waist is at least two pattern sizes larger than the rest of me, according to the charts. It also explains why, back before I gave up hi-waisted pants in the late 90s, anything that fit at the waist had these huge flaps at the hips. 😉

      • Oh, haha! Well, seeing your success with jeans/trousers I’m glad you spent the time to give advice. I’m still not exactly sure what a swayback adjustment is, but…I’ll get there.

  15. Well, happy blogiversary! Your ramblings are so much fun to read and you definitely make me want to get my butt in gear and sew. I’m constantly amazed at how much you accomplish. And, I think it’s awesome that you got dressed up to go to the doctor’s office.

  16. Happy Blog Birthday! I am grateful for this blog through which you share your sewing experiences with us!

  17. Congratulations and well done. As one of those who found you after her selfishness used you to further her own nefarious ends, before disappearing into the bowels of Europe, I didn’t know you when, but I enjoy it now 🙂

  18. Congratulations! You’ve been working hard in this hobbie -considering you’re cheating on all your other hobbies. Or maybe they’re all forgotten?
    =)

    • No comment on the other hobbies… Well, actually, blogging lets me indulge at least two of them (drawing and writing), so I guess it’s really only dance that’s suffering. /sigh…

  19. Love it– the blog, the sewing, you. All of it.

  20. happy blogiversary!! the pic of you in the white jalie, petticoat and white tights is one of my faves ever! can’t wait to see what you come up with over the next year 🙂

  21. Congrats on the anniversary! What a great post to celebrate it. 🙂

    Also, I can’t tell you how much I covet your boots. *steals and runs away*

  22. Congratulations on your first year in blogland! Just finished reading your archives and really like your blog!
    I love your fearless approach to tackling anything and especially those awesome jeans!

  23. Happy Blog Birthday!!!! 🙂 I have thoroughly enjoyed following along with your projects, even though I’ve only had your blog on my reader for a short time. Can’t wait to see what the next year of sewing/blogging adventures brings!

    ♥ Casey

  24. Congratulations and best wishes for another happy blogging year!

    The list of your achievements is dazzling, I wish I could do half this in my own first year of blogging! I think I’ll actually bookmark this post for future motivation, in order to get myself to try new things and step out of my comfort zone… Hey, that makes you an inspiration!

  25. Congratulations. I’m not really sure how you arrived on my radar, because I don’t think it was through that SS post, possibly it was through your comments around the sewing sites? Anyway, it’s been fun hearing what you are up to–and you do seem to be up to a lot!

  26. Congrats! My fave part of your blog (not that you asked) is your blunt honesty. I loved seeing your successes but it was so helpful to me, as a beginner, to hear about your ‘meh’s’. Nothing is really a failure because we learn from it.
    A fabric shopping trip is still in order for us!

    • LOL thank you! My fave sewing blogs are all about the process, and lord knows I’ve got plenty to learn… 😉

      We do indeed! What does your weekend look like? 😉

  27. Happy Blog Birthday! What a fantastic year of sewing, and thank you for your advice on my top i really appreciate it.

  28. The Mom

    A comment to Sue P. I definitely think you should start a blog for the ‘hip, mature seamstresses’. I would read it avidly, and even comment. I have been toying with a blog that would include personal style & how to get it (and not look like my 86 1/2 yr. old mother, or a teenager), thrifted/home sewn, knit or crocheted items of clothing, vintage jewelry, boots (my almost worst addiction, after anything old), home decor (antique/vintage acquired at a reasonable price), theme dinner parties (eg. pirates, Moroccan, etc.), a totally random assortment of parts of my life.

    • Sue P.

      Don’t tempt me!! I keep thinking there IS a better way to grow old and look fabulous. There just aren’t a lot of mentors – especially in the sewing world. I’m not nearly as methodical as Tanit-Isis (who never ceases to amaze me with her fitting talents) but I’m equally as driven to have a garment that I really want to wear. If I do this some day (can you tell I’m seriously thinking about it?), it will be about simplicity, edgy and age appropriate. I’m starting to scare myself……look what you have done, Tanit-Isis!!

  29. Joy

    Happy 1 year! And, I agree, the interaction is the best part – something I didn’t expect when I started.

    And let’s just say you’ve done a fair bit of (gutsy) pattern drafting in the past year.

  30. ali

    congratulations! You’ve done incredible sewing this year and I for one have sooo enjoyed your fearlessness 🙂 catching up as I’ve been in dc ar a conference, but so looking forward to your spring coat progress! I’m thinking of that same pattern, and I really love your mention about muslins. I need to get better at measuring and I’m thinking, speaking of pattern drafting, that I should create few basic slopers to help with fit 🙂

Leave a comment