Fantasy Sewing: Spidey Dress Throwdown

Spidey and New Look

Ok, so a little bit ago when I shared my find of two metres of Spiderman fabric (probably quilting cotton, but oh, well), Cindy of Cation Designs (yes, she of the infamous Original Star Wars Dress, not to mention the Superman Dress and the Batman dress), suggested a super-quick Spidey sewalong, something we could wrap up in time for the movie’s release on July 3.

Dude, I totally want to wear a Spiderman dress to go see that movie. Almost more than I want to see the movie itself (which I do want to see, but I wasn’t going to sweat over, haven blown most of the summer movie budget already on stuff like The Avengers and Snow White and the Huntsman.)

That being said, July 3 is less than a week away, AND there’s Canada Day in the meantime, so the odds of this getting stitched up in time for opening night have become vanishingly slim. So maybe this is less of a throwdown and more of a forfeit, but anyway. I guess as long as I get the dress made in time to actually *see* the movie it would still be awesome…

14 Comments

Filed under Sewing

14 responses to “Fantasy Sewing: Spidey Dress Throwdown

  1. Oh, this with red fishnets would be too tingly!

  2. The movie should be in theatres for weeks. You can make it to see it, you don’t have to finish it for the opening.
    Your girls must be so jealous.

  3. That would be super cute if you had the time!

  4. Lindy

    I thank that would great….I would love to see what it would look like.

  5. My spidey sense is tingling: whether or not you finish this dress by July 3, that dress will be webalicious!

  6. ::cheers you on:: (heck, wear it toga style if you have to)

  7. Joy

    You can do it! (No pressure, though. I sew terribly under pressure).

  8. You can do it, and I second the fishnet tights idea!
    I found an old pair of my son’s sheets the other day while having a clean out, but they were err, Bob the Builder. I don’t think I could pull that one off!

  9. Hm, dat dress looks simple enough and, as you mentioned, it only has to be ready in time for you to actually go and see the movie. Which, if you wait for it to be broadcast on tv, could take another year or so 😉

  10. Hah! I’m pretty sure I know who would win a Spidey dress throwdown, and that person is not me 🙂

    But seriously, you should make this dress! I just started cutting mine today when I realized that June was ending…I don’t know that I’ll have it ready for the premier either!

  11. Sewista Fashionista

    I know you have already brainstormed this – but is there a way to make it quicker, like unfinished knit binding for hemming, etc. Can’t wait to see the dress!

  12. Do it! Do it! Do it! We will miss opening day because Oldest and Middlest will be at camp, but Middlest is DYING to see this so I am probably going to take them at some point. I don’t think I’ll dress up for it, though — those shenanigans are usually confined to Opening Day, although I’m sure your dress will be lovely enough to wear anywhere!

  13. I say do it, too! It totally doesn’t have to be for the opening day.

Leave a comment