Cardi-what?

Simplicity 2603 Cari-Wrap

So bright ‘n early this morning I toodled off to Fabricland to score Simplicity 2603, as per (almost) all of the suggestions yesterday. A bit of tracing and layout juggling later, here I am. Despite the pattern calling for 2 3/4 yards for the small, I was able to squeeze it handily out of my 2m of fabric (about 2.2 yards, maybe?). The fact that my fabric was a smidge wider than 60″ helped, but really you can do better than the layout suggested. Other than that it is made up pretty much as directed, including the elastic in the back neck. Except for the sleeves, which I wanted to be full-

Cardi-Wrap Back

length but not with the weird cuff. I used my handy-dandy Lydia sleeve for a length reference, gave it a bit of a bell shape where the cuff would have been, and voila, nice long scooching-over-my-hands sleeves.

Those of you out there who don’t have ape arms, you have no idea how much satisfaction that fabric around my hands gives me. No idea at all.

I have wings!

So here it is, in all its cozy, elegant glory :D. It’s really too thick a fabric for a lot of the fancier wraps (most of which don’t really suit my figure anyway… I think you need to have curves if you’re going to go tying bulky stuff around you and have it look good)… but it’s certainly a step up from my usual bunnyhug, I think.

I’m counting this as my outfit for today cuz it’s so warm and cuddly there’s no way I’m taking it off. 🙂

Also, it probably would look even more awesome with the kick-ass boots, but I was trying to change it up a bit.

I am sneaky!

15 Comments

Filed under Sewing

15 responses to “Cardi-what?

  1. Nice! I imagine you could hide all sorts of mischief under that wrap.

  2. Gorgeous! And the over-the-hands sleeves work perfectly with it!

  3. Sewista Fashionista

    I think I have this pattern. It was good to see it made since I seem to remember drawings on the envelope. The red is beautiful.

  4. your dramatic interpretation is coming along nicely. I love this on you, I could never get away with such a garment (maybe I have too MANY curves). Love that color too.

    Oooo, and here’s a link that I found to online fabric stores in Canada. It’s a mixed bag. They may or may not allow you to purchase smaller amounts and not suffer from the shipping costs (which I totally try to avoid).

    http://www.chebucto.ns.ca/~ae862/mailorder.html

    There, I’ve done my enabliing for the day. I feel much better.

  5. Thanks, all.

    The pattern envelope has both drawings and photos in a ghastly pink that. don’t really do itjustice, I think.

  6. Nice! I know the pattern but wouldn’t have thought about making it from the illustration. Your version is great.

  7. Now… is it me or are you starting to really get the hang of this sewing-with-knits game ;)?

    Great work hun, I can see you in this is dark-dark navy, or ivy-green too 🙂

  8. You’re looking great in that cardi-wrap-thing. As a fellow ape-armed being, I know how great it is to be able to feel those sleeves on your hands. Oh and that colour is stunning!

  9. Oooh this looks awesome! Excellent choice for this fabric. Looks super cosy and warm and yet, elegant as well! Love it.

  10. Pingback: Autopsy | Tanit-Isis Sews

  11. Pingback: Winged Cardigan | Tanit-Isis Sews

  12. Pingback: Me-Made-May: Week One | Tanit-Isis Sews

  13. Pingback: MMM13 Update, or: A Damning Indictment of a Certain Cardigan | Dressmaker's Curve

  14. Pingback: Snugly-wugly | Tanit-Isis Sews

Leave a comment